Life’s Happenings

Once again it has been quite some time since I’ve  posted here.   I have found that I’m more likely to post random tidbits about what’s happening on Facebook.  So if you’re not already a “friend” there and want to be let me know and I’ll tell you how to find me.

I thought I’d post some photos of what I’ve been up to lately, which really isn’t anything to cause great excitement for the masses.

Photobomb

Not too long ago we took the dogs out for a hike.  First was fetching in the river, mostly for Beacon.  This is why they both have on their float coats.  Andrew and Haven climbed on a fallen tree (and Beacon photobombs!).  You can also see a video here.

Lift Me Down

We say that Haven likes to mountain goat.  She’s not afraid of heights and climbing on things.  Beacon doesn’t like heights.  Sometimes Haven will look for an easy lift down when she’s up high (here about 5-6 feet off the ground).

"Free" Bag of Stuff

I went to a sale that our local kids’ consignment shop was having last week.  I spent $30 and basically got all of this stuff for “free”.  If you spent more than $25 you got $5 off.  And you could fill a grocery bag with things from the clearance room for $5 so I like to look at the bag I was able to fill as being free.   :)  Pictured above are the free items I picked up.

All this for one baby?

We’ve decided to cloth diaper so I’ve been stocking up on all of the supplies.  It’s easy to get addicted to looking at (and buying) this stuff.  Thanks to Diaper Swappers I’ve been able to find some really great deals on diaper stuff and even some clothes.  I’m just about done with all things cloth diaper, which will get us from newborn to potty training!  Now if I can keep myself from looking for deals that I “just can’t pass up”…

This past Friday and Saturday I spent time making diaper stew.   All of the prefolds I purchased were new so they had to be prepped.  Rather than running them through the washing machine 3-5 times I decided to boil them for 30 minutes and do one time through the wash.  They all turned out well.  I may or may not do one more wash with detergent once I get that in.  I also have one dozen prefolds that were on back order coming so I’ll have to prep those and add them to the stack in a couple of weeks.

Returning with the Bumper

We still have snow on the ground.  The dogs still enjoy playing in it.  Getting to March 1 is always a mental goal of mine.  I feel like spring is right around the corner by then and whatever snow we do get from here on out shouldn’t last too long.

I’ve not read one book this year!  Well at least a fiction book.   I don’t think I’ll be reaching my goal of 25 books this year.  I do have a bunch of movie mini reviews to post on that blog of mine.  They’ve been piling up so much I’ll probably have to break them up into several posts.

That’s about it with me!  I’ve been horrible about reading and commenting in these parts and keep telling myself I’ll get better but so far it hasn’t happened!

This entry was posted in HavyBeaks, Life, Pregnancy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life’s Happenings

  1. love the pictures, love your new header, love your blog!

  2. Looks like you got a lot of great stuff! You know, I can’t believe that we aren’t Facebook friends…we should be!

  3. Aussie Emjay says:

    You are wonderfully organized! When I had my children disposable nappies (diapers) were basically only used on special occasions – like going visiting friends because it was easier to deal with “plastic” rather than cloth. I used more disposables when I was toilet training though as they are quicker to get off :-)

    • Amanda says:

      I’ve been talking to my mom about the differences in cloth diapers now compared to when they were used on me! I keep telling Andrew that if we have to change diapers it may as well be a little fun. ;)

Leave a Reply

