Looking Back, Focused Forward

When I look back on 2010 I can’t complain.  It was a good year.  And I look to 2011 to be the same if not better.

I finished Project 365 in 2010, which was one of my photography goals.  In 2011 I hope to post at least once a week showing off photos that I’ve taken during the week.  I’m used to taking a camera with me now so I plan on continuing that.

I wanted to read 50 books last year.  And I ended up reading 61!  One of them was a 1,000 page book.  This year I’d like to read 25 books.  With baby preparation and then having a baby for the second half of the year I don’t think I’d make it to 50.  But I do want to continue reading.

I want to have some sort of writing goal this year.  I want to write more in this public blog.  I seem to always be saying that.  Hopefully I’ll have the time and motivation to post here more often.

I also want to keep a pregnancy journal.  A hand written one.  And I hope to continue having a journal after the baby is born (in addition to some sort of baby book).

And I want to write more snail mail letters.  Just random notes to friends and family.  I know I enjoy getting something in the mail that’s not a bill or junk.

Now that all of our holiday gatherings are done life is back to normal.  We had 5 events over 10 days and drove almost 1,000 miles.  I would say I’m looking forward to things slowing down but most of our weekends in January are filling up already!

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Looking Back, Focused Forward

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    I hope that you keep up the baby journal/book. I did books on each of my children into high school (which is Year 7 in Australia) . Now that they are older they love looking back at them and I have to admit that I love looking at the little book my mother did on me – even though it finishes when I turned 5.

    • Amanda says:

      I like looking back and photos and journal writings that I’ve done over the years. So I’m sure I’ll like looking back on my memories of pregnancy and early stages of having a kid. It’ll be something cool to pass down too.

  2. mizunogirl says:

    I am myself looking forward to all of the Holiday Hubbub winding down and getting back to my scheduled life, though with friends coming in in early February and again in March, I do wonder when that will happen!

    I’m finding it a bit difficult lately myself to visit and write in my own blog. But I am trying not to worry about that too much..sooo much going on. I want to hit the slo-motion button on life!

    • Amanda says:

      Even though we’re busy much of January (at least on the weekends) it’s nice that the holiday chaos is over. Although I’m sure it’ll feel like we’re busy right until the baby is born and certainly right after. I agree that I wish I had a slo-mo button.

Leave a Reply

