WP Stalking?

I’d rather call it “poking around”.  I never really sought out new people on Vox.  I can only attribute that to never feeling at home there.  But with the demise of Vox and movement by many to WordPress I’ve been reading some new blogs.

I find these blogs after seeing comments in a friend’s post or looking at a friend’s blogroll.  I decided that if I find someone interesting I should leave a comment and even put the person’s blog on my blog surfer.

I don’t mind if people lurk around in my blog and don’t comment.   I’ve been blogging for almost 10 years now and this is my “public space”.  Friends and family can come and see what I’m doing.  Maybe some random people will stop by as well.  Of course if you’re reading I don’t mind and encourage commenting but if you’d rather lurk that’s fine as well.

And I also welcome suggestions from friends on a blog (or more) that you think I should check out.   Be a match maker of sorts.  WordPress is one of those tabs that’s always open for me.  I have enough friends here to do that.

I use Google Reader more as my online newspaper.  I read blogs there just for fun.  I typically don’t post comments.  There are some posts I skim or even skip over if the subject doesn’t interest me.  But here I usually at least read every post on my blog surfer and will comment if I have something to say (I’m not one to comment on every post I read).

I will be making more of an effort to make a comment on a post that I’m reading if I’m visiting the blog for the first time (or haven’t yet commented).  In my poking around I should stray from being a lurker.

This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WP Stalking?

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    I think that is a good suggestion, as far as finding new people on other people’s blog rolls. For some reason, I felt a bit safer at Vox in adding new people and believing they were who they said, and in most cases, they were.

    WordPress seems so vast that I do not know how to go about trusting strangers. I do not think I would give out my password to someone unless they were known (for awhile) in the blog world by another friend that I trust.

    • Amanda says:

      Most of the time I end up meeting new people online through mutual friends. It seems easier to do if you have at least one friend in common.

  2. I just realized that I haven’t looked at any new blogs here on WordPress! I’ve been so busy collecting the old vox neighborhood that the thought didn’t even cross my mind. I really miss the “I added you to my neighborhood” option that vox had. I was always amazed when people found me, and actually liked what I had to say. I loved being able to check their blogs out as well. I suppose I can still do that, but it doesn’t feel the same.

    • Amanda says:

      I just started looking at a handful of new blogs. I hope to continue to do that. I’ve only looked at people who are friends of someone I’m already friends with. I haven’t ventured out looking for just random people. I’m not sure that I’ll do that though.

Leave a Reply

