Skipping Stones

A couple weeks ago Andrew and I went to a family reunion.  It was held in a park.  At one point Andrew and I walked down to the river (pictured above) while taking a break from playing badminton. 

We started skipping stones.   I used to skip stones as a kid at a lake in PA where my grandparents lived.  I was pretty good at it.  My skills over the years have diminished. 

I could still skip some stones but could only get a couple of bounces.  Even with perfect skipping stones that were flat on at least one edge.  My technique needs work.  I need practice. 

I seem to remember skipping stones by throwing them in a motion similar to a frisbee.  Andrew skips stones by throwing them more like a side arm pitcher would.  That’s how I was throwing stones a couple weeks ago.  I wonder if that was my problem.  I should have tried the other method to see if I was any better at it.

This entry was posted in Adventures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skipping Stones

  1. This is so pretty! I bet it will be really stunning once the leaves change for the fall.

    • Amanda says:

      I love the reflection. And you’re right, when the leaves change it’ll really be pretty. I’m hoping to get out by some water when the leaves change and take some reflection photos.

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    Your picture is gorgeous. The leaves and trees that are showing in the water are lovely!!

    I remember skipping stones. I was not as good as some others but I think you are correct, it is like throwing a frisbee.

Leave a Reply

