Peach Cake Recipe

I like cooking and baking.  I enjoy photography.  But I’ve never thought it was a neat idea to have a food blog, although I do enjoy reading them. 

When I’m in the kitchen I like to keep going.  Stopping to take photos of the process ruins the flow of things for me.  And there’s not good natural light in our kitchen.  Taking photos of things where a flash will bounce around makes getting shots that I like difficult. 

Yet in spite of this I decided to take some photos of my process in making peach cake.  I got this recipe from my mom.  She got it from an old childhood friend.  This friend’s mom would make peach cake at the end of summer when they spent time at “the lake”. 

Ingredients

1 cup flour                        1/2 cup sugar                   
1/4 cup butter                    1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt                         1 egg
about 4 good size peaches
cinnamon sugar to taste

Mix all ingredients and press into a 9″ square greased pan.  I actually used a 12×17 jelly roll pan and multiplied all of the ingredients by four.  The dough should be sticky.

 

Peaches are washed and cut into sections (skin left on) and spread over the dough. 

Top with cinnamon sugar to taste.  Bake 45 minutes at 350.   I usually bake the cake for 20 minutes and check on it.  I end up taking it out between 25-30 minutes rather than 45.  I’m not sure if it’s the pan I’m using, my oven, or both! 

The finished product!  The cake should be more dense but still moist.  This is good served warm or cold.  I even like dipping it in milk.  Andrew likes to add whipped cream.  I also plan on making this using apples instead of peaches.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peach Cake Recipe

  1. mizunogirl says:

    That was a great post, I am not that into cakes (for obvious reasons) but I loved seeing it go from ingredients to a gorgeous piece of food!

    Now, I LOVE the way you blog looks, so what theme did you select. Mine is all crowded into one corner of the screen…

Leave a Reply

